Why we tell stories…

I have been thinking about this a lot since my book of Bible stories came out a few days ago. Actually it has been on my mind for a long time and was a major reason why I wrote the stories in the book.

We tell stories for two major reasons.

One is to transmit truth in an easily understandable way. (This reason has been subverted often to make people believe lies but, that would be another story for another time.)

The other would be to entertain. We see this in the many books, magazines, movies and television shows that abound in our world. Entertainment is one of the key industries and telling a story is almost always a key factor.

My stories are primarily for truth transmission but, I also hope for a bit of the entertainment factor to maintain interest in the story so that the truth can gain entrance.

I believe that God gave us story telling as a medium for conveying the truth of His Word to anyone who will listen. That is why the stories we tell need to be of the highest quality. If we take the examples that He has given us in the Bible, the bar is set very high and acts as a challenge to Christian writers and story tellers to engage their audiences with their best.

I sincerely hope that my readers will enjoy the stories that I have written. But even more than that, I hope that the truth of God’s Word comes through clearly.

Leave a Reply

