Introducing an outline…

One of my Facebook friends asked this morning what our imaginary friends were doing today. I replied that “I think they are deciding if they want to play with me or not. They have been strangely silent for awhile.”

After thinking about that and doing some additional research on outlining (prompted by K.M. Weiland’s book “Outlining Your Novel”, I decided to start an outline even if I wasn’t sure how to go about that properly. I mean I have read her book with great enthusiasm but, I am a person who wants to see sample outlines that I can copy from. I have created lot’s of outlines for other things but not for my writing.  I felt stymied.

Then I just decided to dive in even if I might not be doing it “right”. That was something I saw in her book. To paraphrase, just do what works for you. I have one started now. We’ll see where it ends up.

I just updated that thread with: “Ok, I decided to force them to talk by starting an outline for a series of four stories based on Hagar the mother of Ishmael. They’ll soon crack under the pressure. HA! HA! HA!”

We’ll see if the joke is on me or them.

One thought on “Introducing an outline…

Leave a Reply

