Proverbs 2 in my 31 days with Solomon devotion…

Read: Proverbs 2

Verse(s) that struck me:

Pro 2:1-22

(1)  My child, listen to what I say, and treasure my commands.

(2)  Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding.

(3)  Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding.

(4)  Search for them as you would for silver; seek them like hidden treasures.

(5)  Then you will understand what it means to fear the LORD, and you will gain knowledge of God.

Reflection:

It is so easy to overlook these opening verses and jump directly to the more commonly focused on verses later in this chapter. To my mind, for me right now, this is the core of the message of Proverbs and of much of scripture. We (I) need to listen to the Lord. I spend far too little time just listening to Him. I think I value what He has to say and yet, how often do I resort to just doing what I think is best?

In today’s crazy world, it is hard to tune out all the rest of the messages being slammed at us every minute of every day. And yet, this is exactly what I must do; not just now, but every moment of every day.

Do I really value God’s wisdom as much as silver? Do I spend one tenth the effort to gain and understand God’s word as I do the elements of my job or favorite hobby?

Application:

This is really not something that I can really do on my own. I need to plead with the Lord for His assistance in tuning out the rest of the messages and for understanding of His message. If I am to truly understand and value the Lord’s commands, then I need to devote time and energy to listening and ingesting what He has to say to me.

I also need to take His commands to heart and make sure that they are the guiding principles that guide my life, control my thoughts and direct my actions.

Prayer:

Lord, help me to tune out the rest of the world so I can focus on you and your Word. Help me to really concentrate on what your Word has to say to me, not what everyone else needs to hear, just me. Help me to Love your Word enough to follow it daily, as a moment by moment guide that I yearn to follow.

Leave a Reply

