Exercise your gift…

Below is a re post of an article I wrote for the Fellowship of Christian Writers newsletter, The Ready Writer. I thought it appropriate on a day we are all trying to figure out how to use our new Christmas gifts.

You Shall Write… “it is the gift of God…”

With Christmas approaching, a lot of people are thinking about gifts. The hustle and the bustle of the blessed season sometimes cause us to lose focus on either the ultimate gift giver, the ultimate gift or His gifts we have already received.

God has uniquely gifted each one of us as writers. I believe that we are gifted in order to bring glory to God. I am reminded of the Parable of the Talents where three men were given different amounts of His money for safekeeping while He was away. Several observations can be made in application to Christian writers.

Mat 25:14  “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven can be illustrated by the story of a man going on a long trip. He called together his servants and entrusted his money to them while he was gone.

One The gift of writing we have been entrusted with belongs to the Lord. In the parable, the man entrusts his own money to his servants. The same is true of our gift of writing. It is His. But, He has entrusted it to us. It is of great value. Trust the Lord that He has given you something extraordinary and special. Because He did this, He also has a plan for us to use it.  What we have is not something that someone can just go out and get. It is not something that we could make for ourselves. It is a gift. It is a talent. It can be a means of exercising other gifts like teaching or encouraging or evangelism. Because of that we need to work on it and hone it so that it shines, so that it can be used properly and effectively. But first, we must choose to recognize, acknowledge and use the gift.

Mat 25:15  He gave five bags of silver to one, two bags of silver to another, and one bag of silver to the last—dividing it in proportion to their abilities. He then left on his trip.

Two The gift He has given to each of us is unique and different from what He has given to others. In the Parable, the man gave different amounts of money to each man in proportion to their abilities. Some of us write small things like articles and short stories, some of us edit and proof read, others write novel after novel. Some people think that novelists are the only real writers. I have tried, unsuccessfully, to write in the novel format and failed each time. I lose interest in the story or can’t drag it out that long. I have another friend who says that she couldn’t write anything but novels. While I was trying to write novels, the well of ideas dried up and the words just would not come. It was like trying to ride uphill on a bicycle with a flat tire against the wind. I kept telling myself, if I was just a better writer, I could do this. Eventually, I just stopped writing at all. Then, this thought came to me. What was I writing when I enjoyed it and did it everyday? I thought about that for a bit and said, “ok, if I go back to what I was doing before, what would I write?” An idea popped into my head and I got excited about writing all over again. When I sat down to write, I popped out 1,000 words my first session. Since then, my enthusiasm has returned and research for the story is not a drag. If I am going with the gift what

Mat 25:19  “After a long time their master returned from his trip and called them to give an account of how they had used his money.

Three The Lord expects us to put the gift to work. He will ask us for an accounting of how we put his gift to work. I believe that God wants us to use our gifts to bring glory and honor to Him. That will mean different things to each one of us. For some of you, it could mean writing notes of encouragement. To others, it could mean writing devotional stories, Bible studies or poems. To still others, it could mean writing novels, short stories or Sunday school lessons/curriculum. Don’t put it off. Don’t listen to the lie that you’re not as good as so and so. Write more. Get better. Put the gift to work. Bathe your writing in prayer. Keep Him in mind as you write.

And, no matter what you write. Write it to glorify God. He is the giver of the gift. Let’s give Him a good report of how we used our gift so we can hear this from Him.

Mat 25:23  “The master said, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’

One thought on “Exercise your gift…

  1. Pingback: angelasfreelancewriting.com » Use It Or Lose It

Leave a Reply

