The Babylonian Adventure – Dinner with the Queen – Part Two

Here is the next installment in my updated story of Esther…remember this is still in draft form.

Seattle  – Present Day

The doorbell rang at the cozy three-bedroom craftsman home of the Johnson family.

“Stan, would you get the door? Please? It’s probably Jon and Andrea and I’m not ready yet!” A young female voice called from the upstairs bathroom.

Stan put down his cereal spoon, stood up and yelled back up the stairs, “I know, I know, Susie, I already figured that out. They always show up to walk to church with us on Sundays.”

“Stan! Call me Sue. I’m fourteen now and Susie is a kid’s name.”

“Oh yeah, right and I’m ten. So, it’s my job to annoy you, Susie!”

“Oh, thanks Stanley!”

“Ok, ok! I’m going, I’m going! Sue!”

Stan opened the front door. “Hi Jon, hi Andrea, come on in. Sue is still upstairs. I’m just finishing my breakfast.”

Jon put his hand on Stan’s shoulder. “Let’s go see what kind of goodies your mom left out in the kitchen, Stan.”

Andrea shouted up the stairs, “Ok if I come up? Jon and Stan are headed to the kitchen.”

“You bet! I’m in my room.”

Andrea bounded up the stairs, went straight to the first bedroom on the right, bounced onto the bed, fell flat on her back blew out some air and said, “Oh man!”

“What’s up, Andrea? You sound frustrated.”

“Oh, nothing. Just everything all at the same time.”

“Huh? If you’re trying to confuse me, it’s working.”

“It’s Jack, you know…”

“I know, you’ve been talking about him non-stop for the last few weeks. What’s the problem? Is he moving to the moon?

”Almost Sue, he’s moving to Vermont!”

“What?”

“His dad got a teaching job at a college in Burlington, Vermont and they have to be there in five days!”

“Wow! That’s fast, but you two never actually had a thing, right?”

“Well, no, not really. It’s just that…I wanted to. And now he is moving away.”

Sue turned to look at her friend and saw a tear welling up in her eye.

“You know.” Sue sat down on the bed beside Andrea. “Maybe God has someone or something better in mind for you.”

“Yeah? Well, I sure wish he would tell me what it is.”

“Andrea, I don’t think it works that way.”

“I’m just saying that a little clarity would be good. I don’t really need a big billboard or anything. I just want some kind of clear sign that this is ok and he has some other plan for me. All I know is that I feel cruddy.”

Sue leaned over and looked her friend in the eye. “Do you want to pray about it?”

“Nah, thanks though. I guess I just needed to get it off my chest. Thanks for listening, Sue.”

Sue stood up and picked up her purse and her Bible, “Well, if you don’t mind I’m going to pray for you anyway.”

“Cool! Thanks!” Andrea popped up off of the bed. “Hey, how about if I run ahead and get us some seats in the high school room. I might be able to see Jack and, and…say goodbye or something.”

“That’d be great! Thanks!”

“Ok, see ya!”

Andrea flew down the stairs and out the door in a flash,

Following, Sue walked down the stairs praying for her friend. She prayed that Andrea might see God’s hand at work in her life without needing big signs.

Sue concluded her prayer with. “Lord, please help me to be as firm in my belief as I hope I sounded to Andrea. Sometimes, I have trouble seeing it and believing it myself. Amen.”

# # #

Here is the link to the previous installment: http://wp.me/p19Ob2-6l

 

Leave a Reply

