Susie Gets Saved – Part 4

Andrea looked her in the eye and asked, “Does just going to church count as knowing Jesus Susie?”

“I’m not sure, I mean, I don’t think so, I just…just…” Susie stammered.

“Well…maybe we should go and ask your Mom, Susie. She would probably know.”

Susie’s face lit up and she said, “That’s a great idea, Andrea. Let’s go ask right now.” The two girls then raced down the stairs and arrived in the kitchen breathlessly.

Mrs. Johnson had almost completed the weaving of a second pie crust and was just taking another tray of cookies out of the oven and carefully moving them to a cooling rack when the two girls burst into the kitchen.

“Mom, can I ask a really important question,” Susie blurted out.

Mrs. Johnson turned and looked at the two girls and said, “Sure Susie. Do you girls want to sample a fresh cookie while we talk about whatever it is that is on your minds?”

The two girls looked and each other and then back at Mrs. Johnson and said simultaneously, “Yes!!”

They both scrambled to get a couple of small plates, glasses, some milk and then sat down at the table all as if in one motion. Mrs. Johnson had to consciously hold back her own little giggle as she watched the girls in their eagerness. They were two beautiful little girls, she thought. What a wonderful gift it is from God to be able to be a part of their lives. This was one of those moments when she just knew that being a Mom was also a great gift from God.

She sent a quick, silent thank you heavenward and said, “Here are your cookies girls, let me sit down and join you for a few minutes. Now, what was it you want to ask Susie?”

Susie looked her mom in the eye and asked, “When did I get saved, Mom? Andrea just asked me and I couldn’t answer her. I know all about Jesus, I have been going to church my whole life, but, I can’t remember ever really asking Him to come into my heart and be my saviour. I think that I just thought I did and never really thought about it until just now. What do you think?”

Mrs. Johnson took a deep breath and looked at Susie. She reached over and brushed her hair out of her eager little face and said, “Susie, darling, I have been waiting a long time for you to ask me this question. We really did talk about it several times when you were very little and you probably don’t remember. It was when you were two or three. You told me then that you wanted to go to heaven when you die and wanted Jesus to be your friend, but I knew that someday you would want to talk about it again when you were more grown up. I think that now might be that time. Why are you asking?”

Susie looked at Andrea and then with a deep breath said, “Andrea and I were talking about why Gram Susie and Grampa Johnny went to Africa to tell people about Jesus and why we have special meetings and invite people in the neighborhood to come to church to hear Dad tell them about Jesus and then Andrea asked me when I had asked Jesus to live in my heart and I couldn’t remember.” Susie paused for just a second and said, “Mom, am I going to heaven?” Mrs. Johnson, looked at her daughter and asked, “Do you want to Susie? Do you know that Jesus is the Son of God and died to forgive your sins? Do you want Jesus to come and live in your heart and forgive all of your sins? Do you want to live for him always?”

Susie looked at her mother and nodded her head. She then said, with a tear in her eye, “Yes, Mommy, I know that I am a sinner and I know that Jesus died for my sins and I want Him to save me more than anything else in the whole wide world.”

Mrs. Johnson looked at Andrea for a moment and said to her, “Andrea, dear, what about you? You and your mother have been coming to our church for some time now. Do you know that Jesus is the Son of God and that He died for your sins too? Do you want to trust Jesus as your saviour? Do you want to have Him forgive all your sins and go to heaven to live with Him when you die? Do you want Him to become your best friend and have Him help you live in a better way? I know that things have not been very easy for you since your father left. Jesus can help you with those struggles. He WANTS to heal that hurt in your heart and help you with those struggles. Would you like that, Andrea?”

 

Leave a Reply

