How Can I Be Sure – Part 2

Susie was not sure what to do or what to say at this point and began to pray silently. “Father, help me help Johnny. Amen.”

Johnny was now walking rapidly around in a circle. Susie spoke up, “Johnny, you know people are always going to let you down. Whether it’s your friends, your teachers or even your own family, they are all going to let you down and disappoint you at some time. I’m sure you know that’s true.” She paused for a minute to let that sink in. Johnny did not respond, he just continued to walk around in a circle. Susie spoke up again, “Johnny, the only person in the whole world that will not let you down, ever is Jesus. He will never let any of us down.”

Johnny suddenly stopped his pacing and looked at her right in the eyes and said, “oh yeah, how can I be sure. If all those other people are going to let me down, how can I be sure Jesus won’t do the same?” He paused for just a second and then said, “I’m going home, Susie. Goodnight.” Then he turned and walked quickly away, leaving her alone, on the bench, in the park, with her thoughts racing around in her head.

Susie closed her eyes and started praying again, “Lord Jesus, my friend Johnny is feeling very hurt and disappointed. Mr. Anderson broke a promise to him about a bicycle that means so much to him. He is very sad, angry and brokenhearted. He doesn’t know who he can trust and right now he seems to even be unsure about you. Lord, please touch his heart. Please give me the right words to say. Thank you Lord, for loving Johnny and please help me to help my friend. In Jesus name I ask these things, Amen.”

Susie then stood up slowly looked in the direction of Johnny’s house to see if she could see him. She couldn’t so she started walking towards her own home. Her mother was going to begin wondering where she was if she didn’t get home soon.

After dinner that night, Susie had settled in at her desk to finish her homework, but she couldn’t concentrate. She was worried about Johnny. A number of Bible verses she had memorized kept running through her mind. The first one was Romans 8: 38-39, “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” That was one of her favorites. She remembered she knew a song that went with it and began to hum to herself.

She got out her Bible because she wanted to look up the other verses to see if she remembered them right. Let’s see, there is

I John 5:11 & 12 “And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.

John 3:15 & 16 “that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life. For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Oh, and verse 36 “Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.”

John 5:24 “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.”

John 6:37 “All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.”

And finally, John 6:47 “I tell you the truth, he who believes has everlasting life.”

“All of these verses talk about our security in Jesus when we get saved,” she said to herself. I know from reading these verses that God saved me and gave me eternal life right then and there. They also tell me nothing can separate me from God and He will never let me go.

Then she remembered that Johnny had memorized them too. She prayed that the Holy Spirit would bring them to his mind. She prayed that God would soften his heart and heal his hurts.

 

Leave a Reply

