The Workers in the Grocery Store – Part 3

“Wow, that’s really nice of you Susie, come on in!” he said opening the door wide so that she could enter. Uncle Klaus had heard the bell on door in the back room and came out to see who had gone out or come in. He smiled when he saw Susie standing there with Johnny. Johnny quickly explained why Susie was there and just as they finished the explanation Aunt Harriet joined them in welcoming Susie and offered to give her some work to do with her on the other side of the store putting up some special displays. “We are new in this area, Susie, and I’d like your opinion on how they look.” Susie looked at Johnny and then back at Aunt Harriet and said, “sure, that sounds great, I’d love to help in any way that I can.” So off to the other side of the store the two went.

Johnny asked Uncle Klaus, “I’ve got all of these empty boxes, Uncle Klaus. What do you want me to do with them.” Uncle Klaus said, “you just move them up here like you did with this stack and I’ll come by a little later and show you how to break them down so we can take them out back for the recyclers to take away.” Uncle Klaus headed back to the back of the store to continue on the project he was working on back there.

So Johnny returned to stocking the shelves. After about 30 minutes more work, he thought to himself. “Wow! This is a lot more work than I thought it was going to be. I’m getting really tired and really hungry and it’s only 10:30 in the morning. We have a long way to go and probably not enough time. I wonder if Jimmy Barski would mind coming over to help me with this.” Just then he was looking out the front window and who was walking by, but Jimmy Barski. Johnny hurried to the front window and knocked on the glass to get Jimmy’s attention and then he ran over to the front door and opened it and stepped outside so that they could talk. “Hey Jimmy, how are you?” he said. “Fine” said Jimmy, “what are you doing in that store? It’s not even open yet?” “Oh, it belongs to my Uncle Klaus and Aunt Harriet. They just moved here from the Midwest, bought the building from the Nguyen’s and are opening up a new grocery store here and are going to live on the second floor. It’s really cool to have them here in Crescent City.” “That’s great Johnny, did you want something because I was headed over to the library to look at some new books on nature photography. Our trip to the wildlife park really got me interested in it and I want to learn how to do it the right way and not get myself or others in danger like that trip.”

“Wow, that’s really cool Jimmy, I was wondering if you had some spare time, I’m helping my aunt and uncle out here and I could use your help for a little while. I could pay you part of what I’m getting to make it worth your while.” Jimmy thought for a quick second and said, “You know Johnny, I’d love to help you out. After all you helped to save my life and helped to lead me to ask Jesus into my heart as my Saviour. No pay is needed. Just point me at the work.” “Wow, that’s great Jimmy, but I’ll find some way to pay you for your time. I don’t want to take advantage of you.”

 

Leave a Reply

