Kenan and Hagar – Part 1

The character of Hagar has always intrigued me. She seems to have been a tragic figure that played an important role in the life of Abram and Sarai. Here is my take on it. It is in draft form. But, that’s ok. You’ll get the idea. You may also remember the boy Kenan from the Abram goes to War story. He shows up again here, a bit older and smitten with a certain Egyptian servant.

“Hagar!” came the sound of a whispered voice.

Hagar awoke with a start and looked around her. She was still in her bed in the servant’s tent. She thought she had heard a voice while she was dreaming but, now, she could hear nothing except the rustling of the tent in the breeze. She lay her head back down on her pillow and closed her eyes.

Just as she was beginning to drift off to sleep again, the sound came again.

“Hagar!” came the whispered voice again.

She propped herself up on her elbow and looked around trying to decide what she heard and where it was coming from.

“Hagar!”

She heard it clearly this time, and it was coming from outside the tent near her head.

“Who are you and what do you want?”, she whispered back, annoyed that someone would do this while she was trying to sleep.

“Hagar! It’s me, Kenan.”

“Kenan!?! What do you want? It’s the middle of the night!”

“We were supposed to go for a walk last evening. I couldn’t find you. Where did you go?”

“That’s none of your business. Now, go away, I’m trying to sleep!”

“Selvi said she saw you coming out of Master Abram’s tent, very late.”

Hagar paused and then said, “I was doing something for my mistress Sarai.”

There was another long pause and then Kenan said. “What?”

“That’s none of your business! Now go away!”

“Hagar! Selvi said she saw you crying when you came out of their tent. I want to know what’s wrong. Listen, Hagar, I care about you. If something is wrong, I want to help.”

“Kenan…go away. I…just…can’t see you anymore. Now, please leave me alone. I’m tired and want to sleep.”

“Well, all right. If that’s the way you want it. I’ll go. But, Hagar, I won’t stop caring.”

Hagar could hear Kenan’s footsteps moving away. She buried her face in her pillow and sobbed “Oh, Kenan…”.

One thought on “Kenan and Hagar – Part 1

Leave a Reply

