God Cares for Me – Part One

A number of years ago, I was telling stories in Sunday School and used a puppet to tell them. I called the puppet Stanley. I also pretended that he was the younger brother of a character Susie in my Susie and Johnnie series of stories. I have posted a lot of those stories here and now I have decided to post a series of the puppet scripts as well. They are some of my earliest attempts at writing, so I hope you enjoy them. Each one is based on some subject or story in scripture.

God Cares for Me

 Mr. Mathisen: Boys and girls, this morning we are going to talk about the fact that God cares for you. And no matter what, He is going to be there to take care of you.

Stanley:           I thought my parents were going to do that.

Mr. Mathisen: They will, but they can’t do it for you all the time or for your whole life, God will be there for all of us as long as we are alive.

Stanley:           Are you sure?

Mr. Mathisen: Yes, it’s kind of like we are a bunch of sheep and He is our shepherd. That reminds me of a story.

Stanley:           Everything reminds you of a story.

Mr. Mathisen: That’s because there are so many good stories to tell. A lot of them are in the Bible, but this one isn’t. This is a story about a time when your sister Susie and her friend Johnnie were out on a hike with their Sunday school class and their teacher, Mr. Christopherson.

Psa 23:1  A psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I have all that I need.

“Alright you guys, quiet down and listen up. I have all of our supplies in my backpack. You are free to look around at the scenery all you want. But…remember that this is an overnight hike, so stay together and don’t lose your gear. Also remember that, as your shepherd on this hike, if you wander off from the group, I may have to tie you up and carry you around. I don’t want to do that. So stay together.”

Psa 23:2  He lets me rest in green meadows; He leads me beside peaceful streams.

After about 20 minutes of hiking steadily uphill in thick trees and bushes, the path the class was following came to the top of a small hill. Johnny, Susie and Andrea stopped and stood at the top of the hill and looked down ahead of them. Through an opening in the trees, they saw a beautiful small valley.

Susie saw it first and grabbed each of her friends by the arm, “Hey guys, look at that. Have you ever seen anything more beautiful in your whole life?”

Andrea could only say, “Wow!”

Johnny stood thoughtfully for a moment, his chubby body still breathing heavy from the climb and said, “I dunno, a heaping plate of oatmeal raisin cookies and a tall glass of cold milk at your house would look awfully pretty to me.”

“Johnny!” Chorused the two girls together. Susie gave Johnny a quick jab in the ribs with her elbow and off the three friends went following the path down into the small valley.

As they came out of the trees on the valley floor, they discovered the greenest grass they had ever seen. Still following the path they discovered a bubbling stream flowing alongside. Johnny stopped for a moment to see if there were fish in it.

“Let’s keep moving Johnny, we have a long way to go,” Mr. Christopherson called out.

Psa 23:3  He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His name.

Leave a Reply

