The Story of Leaving the Ninety and Nine to Find the One – Part One

The Story of Leaving the Ninety and Nine to Find the One

By: God

Adapted by: S.C. Mathisen

Mr. Mathisen:             Stanley, I understand that you had a bit of an adventure this last week.

Stanley:                       Boy, you bet I did, and it was NOT fun Mr. Mathisen! I got really scared. But, I learned something really important, and I’m all right now.

Mr. Mathisen:             Well, would you like to talk about what happened? Maybe the boys and girls would like to hear about it. Maybe they could learn something too.

Stanley:                       Well, alright.

Mr. Mathisen:             Let’s start at the beginning. Where were you? And what were you doing?

Stanley:                       Well, all of the 1 2 my school went on a field trip to the park near Puget Sound. You know the one with the big cliffs and the railroad tracks down by the beach?my school went on a field trip to the park near Puget Sound. You know the one with the big cliffs and the railroad tracks down by the beach?

Mr. Mathisen:             Yes, I do. Go on…

Stanley:                       Well, it was a really sunny day. We all met at the school and rode a couple of school buses to the park. We were all excited to be going to the beach instead of sitting in class. When we got to the park, they lined us all up by class and counted us just to make sure that we were all there. I couldn’t believe that there were a hundred of us!

Well anyway, that’s a lot of kids, and so we headed down to the beach. Our teachers and some of were all walking down the trail the beach, and I saw that my tennis shoe had come untied. So, I stopped to retie it. Our group was the last one and my teacher (Mr. Christos) told me to hurry up. He didn’t want me to be left behind. I said that I would tie it as fast as I could and catch up with them. He said to hurry because he didn’t want me left behind. Then, some other kids started asking him some questions; he turned and followed them down the path toward the beach.

By the time I finished tying my shoes and looked up, they were all out of sight around the bend and down the path toward the beach. I started to run after them when I saw it. It was a Bald Eagle! I had never seen one for real, so I started to follow it. It was flying towards the woods that were next to the beach.

Mr. Mathisen:             Wait a minute! You followed the eagle instead of your teacher?

Stanley:                       Well, I had never seen a real, live one before. I’ve only seen them on TV or pictures of them in books, so I got really excited and . . . kinda forgot what I was supposed to be doing. I just followed it into the woods. I wanted to see where it was going to land. I almost tripped over some trees that had fallen over and stuff. I had a little trouble seeing it a couple of times, but I was watching it real close to make sure that I didn’t lose it. The next thing I knew, I was falling down the side of the cliff. I landed on a little ledge about half way down.

Mr. Mathisen:             Wow! Were you hurt very badly? You look ok now.

Stanley:                       I was more scared than hurt. I mean I landed pretty hard, but I thought for a minute there that I . I looked around to see where I was and I wasn’t sure until I looked down and realized that I was stuck on a ledge! I couldn’t climb back up and I couldn’t climb down! I was stuck on this ledge and I didn’t know where anyone from my school was and they didn’t know where I was! . I looked around to see where I was and I wasn’t sure until I looked down and realized that I was stuck on a ledge! I couldn’t climb back up and I couldn’t climb down! I was stuck on this ledge and I didn’t know where anyone from my school was and they didn’t know where I was! . I looked around to see where I was and I wasn’t sure until I looked down and realized that I was stuck on a ledge! I couldn’t climb back up and I couldn’t climb down! I was stuck on this ledge and I didn’t know where anyone from my school was and they didn’t know where I was!

Mr. Mathisen:             Were you scared Stanley?

Stanley:                       Boy was I!! I was really scared there for awhile and then…

Mr. Mathisen:             And then what?

Stanley:                       And then I remembered your song about not being afraid. You know the one that goes like this: (singing) “I will NOT be afraid, I will NOT be afraid, I will NOT be afraid. With Jesus as my helper NOT be afraid!”

Mr. Mathisen: That’s exactly why we sing those songs, Stanley. What happened then? We don’t want to leave you on that ledge.

Leave a Reply

