The Promises of God with Stanley – Part 3

So David, wearing his normal shepherd clothes took his walking stick and stopped to pick up five small round smooth stones from the bed of the stream that ran through the valley.

He then walked out to the front of the army. Goliath laughed when he saw him for David was still very young. “Am I a dog, that you come out to me with sticks?” Goliath then cursed God again. And then he said, “Come on, I will feed you to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth.” Then he laughed again loudly.

And David said to Goliath, You come to me with a sword and a spear and a javelin: but I come to you in the name of the Lord of armies, the God of the armies of Israel on which you have put shame.

This day the Lord will give you up into my hands, and I will overcome you, and take your head off you; and I will give the bodies of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth today, so that all the earth may see that Israel has a God;

And all these people who are here today may see that the Lord does not give salvation by sword and spear: for the fight is the Lord’s, and he will give you up into our hands.

Now when Goliath made a move and came near to David, David quickly went at a run in the direction of the army, meeting Goliath face to face.

And David put his hand in his bag and took out a stone and sent it from his leather band straight at Goliath, and the stone went deep into his forehead, and he went down to the earth, falling on his face.

So you see God was with him. He gave David the courage to fight Goliath and beat him. God will always be with you, and He will always help you.

Mr. Mathisen:             Now, what about your story Stanley?

Stanley:                       Remember the story about when I went to the beach with my class and fell over that cliff?

Mr. Mathisen:             I sure do let’s tell that too OK?

Stanley:                       Well, sure. It was a really sunny day, and we headed down to the beach. Our teachers and some of the parents were all walking down the trail toward the beach, and I saw that my tennis shoe had come untied. So, I stopped to retie it.

By the time I finished tying my shoes and looked up, they were all out of sight around the bend and down the path toward the beach. I started to run after them when I saw a Bald Eagle! I had never seen one for real before, so I started to follow it. It was flying towards the water.

Mr. Mathisen:             That’s right. You followed the eagle instead of your teacher?

Stanley:           Well, I had never seen a live one before. I’ve only seen them on TV or pictures of them and I got really excited and kinda forgot what I was supposed to be doing. I just followed it into the woods. I almost tripped over some trees that had fallen over and stuff. I had a little trouble seeing it a couple of times, but I was watching it real close to make sure that I didn’t lose it. The next thing I knew, I was falling down the side of the cliff. I landed on a little ledge about half way down.

Leave a Reply

